NSW & ACT Masters Jervis Bay Sailing Club

Standards Winner Matt Blakey (right)  & Brett Beyer - Jon West photo

Standards Winner Matt Blakey (right) & Brett Beyer (left) – Jon West photo

The NSW & ACT Laser Masters was held over the weekend of 13-14th February at Jervis Bay Sailing Club on Callala Bay. Jervis Bay is a great sailing water. Callala Bay is at the northern end so with a 15 knot southerly and a 12 Km fetch there were some great waves to be caught and rides to be enjoyed.


The conditions were fabulous for Laser sailing  14 gusting to 18 knots  from the south on both days. The COVID gods were also on our side as the rules were changed overnight on Friday allowing the seven sailors entered from Victoria to sail.


140 Lasers lined up for the series evenly spread between Radial and Standard rigs with two 4.7′s. The three races each day were completed in good time despite a few and in the case of the Standards many general recalls and black flag starts.


In the Standard fleet it was a toe to toe battle between Apprentice Master Matt Blakey from Port Melbourne YC and Master Brett Beyer from Woollahra SC. Both are current national champions in their age division. Matt finished ahead by two points after dropping a black flag result. Brett was very consistent with a second place his worst result. Master Matthew Faddy from Vaucluse YC was a clear third. Jan Scholten (ASC/RPAYC)) won a close tussle in the Grand Master Division from Steve Gunther (Port Melbourne YC).


In the Radial fleet the top three stood out with Double Bay SC Apprentice Masters James Tudball and Gavin Blake finishing first and third respectively.GM winner David Early from Georges River SC was second. The first Master was Andrew Cox also from DBSC. The DBSC Brett Beyer coaching program is clearly lifting the standard in the club. Current World Radial GGM champion Jeff Loosemore (MHASC/GRSC) was first GGM and finished 5th in the Radial fleet. Lew Verdon (MHASC) won the newly introduced Legends Division.


Vanessa Dudley (MHASC) had a great regatta finishing 6th in the Radial fleet and was the first woman.


The encouragement award prizes donated by PSA  went to Robert McCulloch Radial Northbridge SC and local Geoff Carne in the Standards. The sail draw donated by NB Sailsports was won by Mick Tilden from Illawarra YC. Thanks to these sponsors for these prizes.


Our photographer Jon West took some great photos which you can see and buy online on his web site HERE.


Thanks to our RO Andrew McLachlan and the great crew from Jervis Bay Sailing Club for running this event for us. The club did a great job on the water and on the shore. The necessary COVID plan placed some restrictions on us but these were managed in  a friendly and co-operative way with little inconvenience,  Well done JBSC for a great event.


The results for the event are HERE.

Radial fleet winners James Tudball & David Early - Andrew Coc Masters winner - Jon West photo

Radial fleet winners James Tudball & David Early – Andrew Cox Masters winner – Jon West photo


NSW & ACT District Laser Association |