NSW & ACT Lasernews


The collection of Lasernews starting with the first in September 1974 through to the last in 2007 gives a superb account of the history of the class in Australia and especially in the NSW/ACT District.


The collection has been prepared partly to celebrate the 50th year of the class in Australia (in 2021) but also as a way of acknowledging the outstanding contribution of many people over the years to quickly establish, grow and manage the class through the Association.  Too many to mention individually, other than Rob Mundle who worked tirelessly to establish the class and the following who have been recognised by Life Membership:


Brett Beyer

Michael Blackburn

Glenn Bourke

Ralph Ellis

Paul  Hargan

Jeff  Loosemore

Rob Lowndes

Geoff Lucas

Michael Mills

Warwick Phillips

Kevin Phillips

Michael Stovin-Bradford

Frank Walsh

Andrew York

Then there are the many who have tried their hardest  to run good races and control the huge numbers of adrenalin pumping, aggressive sailors on the start line.  Again too many to mention them all but Ralph Ellis, Tony Denham, Col Chidgey and currently Andrew McLachlan deserve mentioning.


Enjoy browsing through the Newsletters.  Special thanks to Paul and Yoko Hargan who managed to collect and collate nearly all the material shown, not only for our District but also for the other Australian Districts.  Also to Geoff Gale who provided some of the very early material.  Some of this will be forwarded to the ILCA as a lot of their history has been lost.


What about District news since 2007?  All website posts since 2013 are still easily accessed on the Association website.  There is a gap before then but almost all regatta results since 1996/67 are on the website.


If we have missed anything and you have relevant documents which could be included please contact your Masters Rep Rob Lowndes at lowndesr@bigpond.net.au.


Click here to return to the collection


12 Feb 22

NSW & ACT District Laser Association |