Metropolitan Championships 2022 RPAYC Pittwater


Silvie & Daniel_740

Daniel Costandi & Sylvie Stannage Standard – Radial Winners in Action – Photos by Jon West


The Metropolitan Championships were held at Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club over the weekend 5-6 March. There were 52 entries in the three fleets. It was great to see the roll up in the 4.7s.


There was some really close racing in conditions which started NE light and variable on Saturday and finished at 20 knots from the south on Sunday. All six races were completed with minimum use of the black flag by R.O. Andrew McLachlan.


In the 4.7 fleet the heat wins were shared around. In the end the the top two James Hayhoe (RSYS) and Ben Costandi (RSYS/GRSC) were the most consistent and finished in that order one point apart. Close behind was Harriet McLachlan (RSYS/DBSC). Harriet was the first Under 16 and first female. It is good to see a number of our 4.7 sailors entering for the Worlds in Vilamoura, Portugal in August.


In the Radials there was a great battle and close racing between the top four women. The top three finished just two points apart with Sylvie Stannage (HHSC/DBSC) prevailing over Evie Saunders (MYC/DBSC) and Paige Caldecoat (WSC/B16s/NCYC). Evie was first Under 17. The first male was GGM Jeff Loosemore (MHASC/GRSC) who was fourth. Jeff demonstrated the results of heaps of practice in all conditions with a first and second in the final two races when the wind was really up. Brooke Wilson (RSYC/DBSC) was first Under 19.


In the Standards it came down to the last race with Daniel Costandi (GRSC/DBSC/RSYS) winning the race and the series by a point from Alexander Bijkerk (RPAYC/DBSC). Both sailors are up and coming Under 21s. Not far back was local GM sailor Jan Scholten (RPAYC/ASC). Jan’s Laser sailing has been affected by his campaign with fellow Laser sailor Jules Hall in the inaugural double handed division of the Sydney Hobart which they won.


Thanks to RPAYC for their fabulous organisation of this event for us – much appreciated. It is a great club with first class facilities and equipment and great support staff. Thanks also to our RO Andrew McLachlan for giving us another weekend of his busy life.


Thanks to Jon West there are photos from the event which can be viewed and purchased Here.


The division and fleet winners are listed below and the full results are Here.


Fleet 4.7 Radial Standard
1st James Hayhoe Sylvie Stannage Daniel Costandi
2nd Ben Costandi Evie Saunders Alexander Bijkerk
3rd Harriet McLachlan Paige Caldecoat Jan Scholten
Division 4.7 Radial Standard
First female Harriet McLachlan Sylvie Stannage
Under 16 Harriet McLachlan
Under 18 James Hayhoe
Under 17 Evie Saunders
Under 19 Brooke Wilson
Under 21 Daniel Costandi
Apprentice Viamo’oi’a Ripley Cam Edwards
Master Kerrie Shimeld Bill Nixey
GM Jenny Danks Jan Scholten
GGM Jeff Loosemore Warwick Foy


Harriet & James 4_7  Action_740


4.7 action James Hayhoe and Harriet Mc Lachlan – Photos by Jon West

NSW & ACT District Laser Association |