Nationals at Mandurah WA

Tristan Brown, Ashley Stoddart and Angus Barker Radial Start

Tristan Brown, Ashley Stoddart and Angus Barker show how to sail in testing conditions – Photo by Rick Steuart

The National Open and Masters Championship was held over Christmas New Year at Mandurah Offshore Fishing and Sailing Club WA. Sailing conditions were character building with mostly 15 to 25 knot SW’ly (220-230) winds on the Indian Ocean accompanied by large waves on the inside course set further from the shore.

Sailors enjoyed the sometimes wild rides and by and large managed the conditions well. Some of the masters and the younger and lighter sailors however found the going challenging.

There were 170 entries 50 4.7′s, 78 Radials and 42 Standard. The Radials had a split fleet with Gold and Silver fleet finals.

World number one ranked Tom Burton and Perth local Matthew Wearn were in a class of their own at the front of the Standard fleet with Tom winning enough of the races to wrap the series up with two races to go.

Tom acknowledged that this was one of the toughest he had sailed in effectively match racing in 20-25 knots with a very competitive Matthew Wearn. It wasn’t until the 3rd day that Matt was able to take a win from Tom and after that was able to win both races on the 5th day where his size and strength proved decisive allowing him to beat Tom to each top mark. Queenslander Ryan Palk was third on a count back with Matthew Wearn’s clubmate Luke Elliott fourth. Matthew Wearn was the winner of the Standard Youth division.

Burton Wearn Luke Elliott Ryan Palk Nationals

Tom Burton Luke Elliott and Ryan Palk (right to left) at the front of the Standard Fleet – Photo by Rick Steuart

The Radials were dominated by WA sailors with Alistair Young taking a narrow win from Tristan Brown with Conor Nicholas third. Tristan was also the winner of the Youth cube. Ashley Stoddart RQYS easily won the women’s event finishing a very creditable 5th overall.

Brody Riley from McCrae YC Victoria had a convincing win in the 4.7′s with WA local Caelin Winchcombe runner up after a countback from NSW sailor Jordan Makin.

Masters winners were in the Standard Chris Caldecoat NSW Apprentice, Grant Loveday WA Master, Gavin Dagley Vic GM and in the Radials Mark Kennedy Qld M, Jeff Loosemore NSW GM and David Edmiston NSW GGM.

The full results for the series are here and photos by Rick Steuart are here.


NSW & ACT District Laser Association |