Monthly Archives: February 2015

Metros at Double Bay 7-8th March 2015

DBSC_flagThe Metropolitan Championship is on 7-8th March at Double Bay Sailing Club. This is a great club and this will be a cracker event on Sydney Harbour.

Race Documents and Entry
The Notice of Race is here and the Sailing Instructions are here. You can enter the event online here or up to 11.30am on Saturday 7th at Double Bay.

Registration and Sign on and Off
Registration will be from 9.30 to 11.30am at Double Bay. If you are not rigging at Double Bay and you have entered online you can register (before 11.30am) and sign on and off by text message to 0427146400. You must include the sail number and skippers name in the text message.

There is only a limited amount of untimed car parking in Double Bay, and the council rangers are vigilant. DBSC has arranged day parking in the Double Bay Public school grounds, just 150m across the park from the club ($10 donation to the P&C). Trailers are allowed to be left in a designated area at the western end of Steyne Park. Other Parking options are the Cross St Car park @ $18/day and free untimed parking in the Marathon St area of Darling Point for those that (a) are feeling lucky and (b) don’t mind a hike up the stairs at the end of the day.

There is more event information on the Double Bay mini web site at

The following is a message from DBSC Commodore Luke Parker

On behalf of all at DBSC, I’d encourage Laser sailors from far and wide to join us at the 2015 NSW Laser Metropolitan Championships. This is the first major regatta DBSC has hosted for many years, and we’re determined to make it a success on and off the water

We’ll be racing on Sydney Harbour, not far from the Bridge, the City, the Harbour Islands and Fort Denison. Its a spectacular and challenging place to race. Of course, we won’t have the harbour to ourselves, but we’ll be positioning courses to make the most of the prevailing winds with consideration of other traffic.

There’s an abundance of grassed rigging area, arrangements have been made for parking, our change rooms have ample hot water, you get a complimentary regatta T shirt, the canteen will be stocked and we have a $2 sausage sizzle after racing. What more could you want?

We look forward to racing with you on 7 and 8 March.


Applications for World Standard Men’s & Masters Close 4th March

Applications close on 4th March 2015 for the 2015 Standard Laser Men’s World Championship and the 2015 Laser Masters’ World Championship at Kingston, Ontario, Canada.

To date there are 6 Australian applications for the Standard Men’s and 87 total. There are 31 Australian applications for the Masters out of a total of 249.

Information on and and applications for these events are here.


Vaucluse Regatta

The Vaucluse Yacht Club was proud to host the annual Vaucluse Regatta on 21st February. Unfortunately the weather gods were not smiling with conditions generally light and overcast however the race committee did an excellent job in ensuring that 3 races per fleet were held. The Laser class was well represented with 27 Standard rigs and 26 Radials.

Competition in the Standard Rigs was close over the 3 races with the wins shared between Elliot Scali, Andrea Oliveri and Sean Atheron-Feeney. The short course racing and light winds provided for plenty of tactical manoeuvring and with downwind finishes the trailing boats were always in the hunt. Overall Sean Atherton-Feeney from MHASC defeated Andrea Oliveri of DBSC by 1 point with Anthony Scali from Vaucluse Yacht Club third. The home team was well represented with 5 finishers in the top 10.

The Radial fleet was equally competitive with MHASC taking the honours with Stuart Plenderleith having a clean sweep followed by Vanessa Dudley and Marlena Berzins of DBSC third. Racing in the light conditions with a run-out
tide made the starts challenging. Back in the chasing group young Blake Selly was sailing well against the more mature sailors Peter Heywood and Jeff Loosemore.

Podium position results are here.

Vaucluse Club boasts open sailing waters and the ocean swell being so close to Sydney heads and provides outstanding sailing and waves in the usual North East summer breeze. The Vaucluse Yacht Club invites visitors to their regular racing on Saturday and reminds competitors that the Vaucluse Regatta will again be held in February 2016 and the club encourages all Laser
sailors to participate.

Laser Masters South Lake Macquarie

Club PhotoS

Some of the 130 Lasers ready for battle at Sunshine

131 Lasers contested the NSW/ACT State Masters at South Lake Macquarie ASC on the weekend.

There were 59 Radials and 72 Standard Rigs with cube level entries in all age divisions except for Radial Apprentice.

There were entries from far afield around NSW from Canberra and welcome visitors from Victoria, Queensland and New Zealand. There were three current and five previous Laser World Masters Champions in the fleet so plenty of tough competition.

RO Col Chidgey judged the timing well, holding the fleets back on shore until the breeze steadied. In the end five of the six scheduled races were completed in fair sailing conditions with ENE breezes randing from 7 to 13 knots.

The races were run with single starts for each rig with long starting lines matching the 70 boat fleet.

In the Standard Fleet current World Masters champion Brett Beyer had a battle royal with MHASC master sailor Shaun Atherton-Feeney. Brett took the last three races to win on a countback. Third was Nic Skulander from Woollahra SC.

In the Radials the fleet win went to Georges River Master David Early. Second was  Canberra Grand Master Bruce Paine and third MHASC’s Vanessa Dudley. Vanessa also won the cube for the first woman.

The age division winners were;

Apprentice Masters Masters Grand Masters Great Grand Masters
1  Jeffrey Myers GRSC David Early GRSC Vanessa Dudley MHASC Robert Lowndes MHASC
2 Martin Wilson GRSC Bruce Paine CYC Kevin Phillips GSC
3 Russell Ford M16SC Jeff Loosemore GRSC/MHASC Kerry Waraker RQYS
4 Diane Sissingh MHASC Martin Linsley CYC/RANSA Tony Ryan CYC
5 Murray Walters RPAYC Martin White DBSC Timothy Alexander NSC
1 Richard Bott DBSC Brett Beyer WSC Stephen Gunther KBSC Mark Bethwaite DBSC
2 Nicholas Skulander WSC Sean AthertonFeeney MHASC Anthony Scali VYC Stephen Wawn RPEYC
3 Matt Blakey  TYC Jan Scholten ASC Rick Longbottom RANSA Michael O’Brien VYC
4 Zac Skulander WSC David Page HHSC Mark Phillips RANSA
5 Chris Caldecoat SLMASC Ian Young GRSC Peter Wallace DBSC/MHASC

The South Lake Macquarie Amateur Sailing Club did a fabulous both on the water and off. Thanks to the race and boat crews and the catering volunteers for their terrific job organising the racing and feeding the Laser sailors. We would love to come back for future events to Sunshine.

The full results are here;

Division Results

Fleet Results

A  few finishers were missed due to tight finishes and manouvering at the finish. Please email if you can clarify positions which affect your results.

NSW & ACT District Laser Association |